07/30/2018 The Other Side of the Dialogue

E95B5D16-D0DD-4380-85EF-559D3272DC9B
Here is an excerpt from Chapter 5 of Prayer: Does It Make Any Difference? by Philip Yancey.

In prayer I speak haltingly at first, “slow of speech and tongue” like Moses. I open my soul, exposing by will what God already knows by wisdom. The psalms tell of panting with an open mouth, of thirsting for the living God, of longing for God as parched earth longs for water. They sound like letters from a heartsick lover, and at the core that’s what we seekers are. I tell myself that God is inclining an ear to my prayer, and over time I learn to believe it. I see that God, like most of us, cares mainly about being loved, believed, trusted, honored.

As I persist at prayer, I recognize an answering partner who takes up the other side of the dialogue, a kind of internal alter ego representing God’s point of view. When I want revenge, this partner reminds me of forgiveness; when obsessed with my own selfish needs, I am struck with the needs of others. Suddenly I realize I am not talking to myself in this inner dialogue. The Spirit of God is praying within me, communicating the will of the Father.

Comments? Please post them to this blog site.

Today’s music video features Lou Fellingham.
God of Mercy (Prayer Song)

Grace Upon Grace,
George

Author: cheeseheadva

Elder of the United Methodist Church Formerly in Full Connection in the Virginia Conference from June 1990 to September 2017 Married since 06/19/82 to Rebecca Father of Emily, Rachel, Hannah & Christopher Grandfather of Nora & Benaiah 1976 Graduate of Churchland High School, Portsmouth, VA 1980 Graduate of Randolph-Macon College, Ashland, VA (Bachelor of Science in Classics) 1983 Graduate of Candler School of Theology, Emory University, Atlanta, GA (Master of Divinity) Racewalker Green Bay Packer fan Employed part-time at High Peak Sportswear in picking and delivery

One thought on “07/30/2018 The Other Side of the Dialogue”

Leave a comment